Posted on

Is the AWS SysOps Administrator Associate Worth It?

Amazon Web Services (AWS), the global leader in cloud services, offers instant value with all of its certifications. Amazon offers 11 certifications at four levels: Associate, Professional and Specialty. The AWS SysOps Administrator Associate certification is the most popular and broadest-based, and one that IT professionals should seriously consider.
What is the AWS SysOps Administrator Associate?
The AWS SysOps Administrator Associate is one of three Associate-level certifications. It is considered the most difficult at that level. It is designed to validate the knowledge and skills of anyone with “technical expertise” in AWS deployment, management, operations, and administration.
Amazon has six specific validation objectives for this certification:
Manage, deploy, and manage scalable, highly available, fault-tolerant systems on AWS.
Control and implement the flow of data from and to AWS.
Based on your compute, data, and security requirements, choose the appropriate AWS service.
Identify the best AWS operational best practices.
Calculate AWS usage costs and identify cost control mechanisms.
Migration of workloads from on-premises to AWS

What is the Associate Test for AWS SysOps Administrator?
The AWS SysOps Administrator Associate exam is broken into seven domains, with the following weightings:
Learn how to become a security expert with SPOTO’s Cybersecurity Training
Start trainingMonitoring & Reporting (22%)
High Availability (8%)
Provisioning and deployment (14%)
Storage and Data Management (12%)
Security and Compliance (18%)
Networking (14%)
Automating and Optimizing (12%)

Each domain has clearly defined task-based divisions which primarily focus on your ability within AWS.
Domain 1: Monitoring & Reporting
AWS monitoring services allow you to create and maintain alarms and metrics.
Recognize and distinguish performance and availability metrics.
Based on availability and performance metrics, take the necessary steps to correct the problem.

Domain 2: High Availability
2.1 Use case-based scalability/elasticity.
2.2 Recognize and distinguish highly resilient and available environments on AWS.

Domain 3: Deployment & Provisioning
3.1 Identify and implement steps necessary to provision cloud resources.
3.2 Identify and fix deployment problems

Domain 4: Data and Storage Management
4.1 Manage and create data retention.
4.2 Identify and implement data encryption, data protection, and capacity planning requirements.

Domain 5: Security and Compliance
5.1 Manage and implement security policies on AWS.
5.2 Use AWS to implement access controls
5.3 Distinguish between the roles and responsibilities within the shared responsibility model.

Domain 6: Networking
6.1 Use AWS networking features.
6.2 Use AWS connectivity services
6.3 Collect and interpret relevant information to troubleshoot network problems.

Domain 7: Automation & Optimization
7.1 Use AWS features and services to manage and evaluate resource usage.
7.2 Employ cost-optimization strategies for efficient resource utilization.
7.3 Automate manual and repeatable processes to reduce overhead.

It is important to remember that AWS uses live exams to test new questions and gather statistical information. Do not let an odd item on the exam get you down. Answer the question to your best ability and move on to the next question.
How Much Does the AWS SysOps Administrator-Associate Exam Cost?
$150 per attempt is required to take the Aws SysOps Administrator Associate exam. Amazon offers practice exams for $20. You should take at least one to gauge your preparation for the real deal.
The SOA-C01